Horses for sale banner
Find a Horse Find by Location Sell a Horse My Account Avoid Scams

Horse for Sale - Dancer

Dancer

Dancer

Breed Other Contact Doreen
Gender Gelding Phone 931-752-8201
Age 8 y.o. Location Jamestown, TN
Height 15.1 hands
Color Chestnut Country United States
Registration Missouri Fox Trotter X
Price $3,000 OBO (USD) Email Click here to email seller
Email this Classified
Flag as Inappropriate

Click thumbnails below to view larger photo.

Add to Favorites (requires login). Don't have an account? Sign up for free.

Description

My name's Dancer, I'm almost 8 years old, my Mom's a Fox Trotter, Dad's a Rocky Mtn. I was gentled to saddle at approx 30 months old, I'm a solid ride, well built and smart enough to want a partner, not just a passenger. I'm happiest with a hackamore, I'm shod in front, barefoot behind, UTD on shots, neg Coggins. Extensively trail ridden and shown lightly at local East Fork Stables shows in Jamestown TN. My folks place a heavy emphasis on horses trusting their riders so we've done as much "bombproofing" on our trail rides as possible (walking across and under tarps, dragging objects behind, stepping on plastic bottles or aluminum cans, crossing bridges or a teeter totter, step ups and downs, etc) If something does make me nervous, rather than spook I'll normally "grab ground", and Mom lets me have a good look at it, then asks for movement. I probably need at least a somewhat experienced rider (one who can suggest what I should do and mean it) to create the best partnership. I'm used to riding with a trail dog, will pony another horse or ride with a dog on a leash, road and traffic safe. I like to be in front on trail rides but will ride alongside or behind. Nice smooth trail gait - not fast but I do have 2 gears. I've never been taught a canter cue but will do so if asked from your leg. Mom used to ride English so uses leg and spur cues regularly, rides with a fly whisk so I'm used to being slapped, brushed and whisked everywhere -- you can even use your hat to kill flies on my butt and not only won't I react but I will appreciate it. I'm routinely ridden with the reins hanging over the horn and Mom expects me to just follow the trail until she asks something else. I'm used to being in a couple acre field with 3 or 4 other horses but I'm fine in a stall also. I trailer load on my own if asked or follow nicely, back off like a gentleman, single or cross tie, I'm fine on a high-line, good for the farrier and Mom trims my back feet regularly. I do like to chew on trees when I'm bored or on the front of my stall wall - Dad calls me "the beaver" but I don't crib. I don't get a lot of grain (1 1/2 to 2 quarts of 12% pellets once each day with unlimited hay) so I'm an easy keeper. My picture is from the Best Friends 2009 Show at East Fork Stables in the Country Pleasure Class - we won against 27 other horses - pretty nice, huh? The family's too big for everyone to get enough time in the saddle and my 4 year old cousin needs more saddle time so if you're looking for a reliable, safe and enjoyable trail mount who is looking for a new family, why not come check me out?? My price is somewhat negotiable depending on situation.

Disciplines

Trail Horse Gaited Western Pleasure